By Chris McKinney


Publisher: Soho Press, Inc. (July, 2021)
Format: Hardcover
Price: $27.95 US
ISBN-13:  978-1-64129-240-5

Kindle edition: $14.99


The Water City Trilogy (Book 1 of 1)


Reviewed by Larry Jung
(June, 2021)


MIDNIGHT, WATER CITY is the first book in a trilogy that is set on Earth in the 22nd century. Science and technology have created sustainable sources of power, populated the depths of the oceans with towering "seascapers" to live, and provided a high-level of material well-being. But humanity did not evolve with its environment.

Mankind is still cursed with envy, avarice, hatred, guilt, and murder.

There is still a need for law and order; and more than ever, there is a need for dedicated cops.

The story is a science fiction murder mystery. We follow the unnamed narrator he investigates the seemingly impossible murder of Akira Kimura, the Earth's most famous person and an off and on friend of the narrator.  The investigation leads him on a journey into his own personal hell to find the murderer.  Along the way, we are treated to discouraging travelogues of mankind's possible future.  Through the narrator's eyes we see a world motivated by fear: fear of running out of stuff, fear of running out of vitality, fear of running out of beauty, fear of the running out of drugs, fear of the running out of faith. With the blessing and curse of being able to "see" the color of danger and the color of murder, the narrator questions whether he ever really knew who Akira Kimura was and how she used him.

Fans of the Amazon Prime show THE EXPANSE and the movie GHOST IN THE SHELL (2017) will enjoy MIDNIGHT, WATER CITY.

Copyright 2021 Lawrence Jung. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of the author is prohibited. OMDB! and OMDB! logos are trademarks of Over My Dead Body!

Return to Book Reviews.

Return to Over My Dead Body! Online.