Buy this book?

LOST ANGEL


By Mike Doogan

Berkley Prime Crime, 2007 ($7.99)
ISBN-10: 0425216667
ISBN-13: 978-0425216668

Reviewed by Cherie Jung

This is the debut novel for Mike Doogan. He introduces readers to Nik Kane, in a proposed series, set in Alaska.

Depending upon one's point of view, Kane has several strikes against him. He's an ex-cop, an ex-con, and a soon-to-be ex-husband. Recently released from prison, he's trying to adjust to life on the outside. Of the few options available to him, he takes on private investigative work. This case involves a missing teenager. Is she a runaway or a possible victim of foul play? She disappeared from a reclusive religious community in the Alaskan interior.

The story starts off with a bumpy ride to Rejoice, the religious community's location. I felt an instant liking for the character of Nik, as he bantered with the pilot of the bush plane. I was glad to be tagging along. I liked the setting. Icy cold Alaska.

Of course there's nothing new with the flawed former cop trying to make good scenario but I like the way the author handled it. I was reminded, a bit, of one of my all-time favorite authors and characters -- J. A. Jance and her J. P. Beaumont character.

I am looking forward to more Nik Kane adventures.

Fans of Sue Henry and Dana Stabenow will want to give Doogan a read. I don't think they'll be disappointed.

The author is a former columnist for the Anchorage Daily News.

The second book in this series is CAPITOL OFFENSE. Published in August, 2007, it is available in hardcover from G.P. Putnam's Sons.

more reviews


Return to Over My Dead Body! Online.


Copyright 2007 Over My Dead Body! All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Over My Dead Body! is prohibited. OMDB! and OMDB! logos are trademarks of Over My Dead Body!