By David Rosenfelt



Publisher: Minotaur Books (2020)
Format: Hardcover
Price: $ 27.99
ISBN-13: 978-1-250-25719-2
Kindle edition: $10.99

Publisher: Minotaur Reprint edition (February, 2021)
Format: Paperback
Price: $ 14.99
ISBN-13: 978-1-250-77965-6


K Team novels (Book 1 of 2)


Reviewed by Shirley Wetzel
(April, 2020)


When cops retire, their next step is often to become private investigators. This is the choice former Maryland police officers Laurie Collins and Cory Douglas make. The other team members are Marcus Clark and Simon Garfunkel. Marcus supplies the muscle, and Simon provides the K in their name, the K Team. Simon has served with Corey for years, and thanks to Laurie’s husband, attorney Andy Carpenter, Corey was allowed to retire with his canine partner.

The team has investigated for Andy in the past, but now that he’s mostly retired, they want to branch out and take on their own cases. Their first case is a doozy: Judge Henry “Hatchet” Henderson is being blackmailed and he wants the team to find out who’s behind it and put a stop to it. He’s made many enemies during his years on the bench, so the pool of potential suspects is large.

The note the judge received didn’t ask for anything specific, only said that soon he would be called upon to do a service for the sender. If he fails to do as asked, there’s a threat that fabricated evidence of his corruption will be released. The evidence is damning, and it’s clear that it’s taken several months to create the complicated scheme.

The team’s brainstorming leads them to conclude that the service the judge is told to perform must be related to one of his upcoming trials, but which one? Their investigation takes them into a world of gang warfare, financial intrigue, and danger.

THE K TEAM is a new series by David Rosenfelt, featuring three of the characters from his popular Andy Carpenter series. Fans of that series, dog lovers, and readers who enjoy a well-plotted mystery with engaging characters will enjoy this novel. Highly recommended.

Copyright 2021 Shirley Wetzel. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of the author is prohibited. OMDB! and OMDB! logos are trademarks of Over My Dead Body!

The second installment in this spinoff series from bestselling author David Rosenfelt's beloved Andy Carpenter mysteries.

ANIMAL INSTINCT by David Rosenfelt  (K Team Novels  Book 2) will be released in Hardcover – April 6, 2021 from Minotaur Books. $27.99.  ISBN-13: 978-1-250-25720-8 (Kindle edition: $14.99)

Return to Book Reviews.

Return to Over My Dead Body! Online.