By Phoef Sutton


Publisher: Prospect Park Books (November, 2016)
Price: $16.00
Format: Trade paperback
ISBN-13: 978-1-9388-4968-8
Kindle edition: $7.99


Reviewed by Cherie Jung
(November, 2016)


Caleb Rush (aka: Crush) is an L.A. bodyguard and bouncer. Rachel Fury is a con artist. Rachel Strayhorn is an up-and-coming movie actress. A few years back, Crush did a job for Rachael Fury. Now Ms. Fury is back, having reinvented herself as Rachel Strayhorn and she needs Crush to take care of another job for her.

This is a fast-paced, witty, fun crime novel. I like authors who can pull off smart-ass characters. Sutton does not disappoint.

Although this is the second book in the series, readers who have not read book one will not be at a loss. I hadn’t read the first book in the series and I’d only planned to read a few pages when I started reading HEART ATTACK AND VINE late one night. Almost before I realized, the words “THE END” came into sight and the pre-dawn light was filtering through my window.

The author has a strong background in writing for television and he knows how to tell a story. Readers will be quickly drawn to the characters, the settings, and to the author’s smooth writing technique that keeps the plot twisting and turning and never lets it unravel too soon.

This could easily become not only a very popular written series but an appealing cable TV series. (Hint. Hint. Someone should snap up the film rights to this character, if they haven’t already.)


Other titles in this series: CRUSH.

Would you like to read a review of CRUSH, the first book in this series? Please click here.

Copyright 2016 Cherie Jung. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of the author is prohibited. OMDB! and OMDB! logos are trademarks of Over My Dead Body!

Return to Book Reviews.

Return to Over My Dead Body! Online.